top of page

Through the Eyes of a Pup: A Day in the Life

Jennifer McIntyre - Staff Writer


My life has just become even more fabulous over these past weeks. Personally, this quarantine will be the highlight of the next seven years of my life, one year in your time. As my human’s stress levels rise, mine continue at ease. Here is my new day as a quarantined puppy.

My mornings no longer begin with my mom begging the moody teenager to wake up for school. Instead, I start my mornings around 7 a.m. with belly rubs from both mom and dad. Then it is time for breakfast, and my kibble now serves as an appetizer. My entree is made from scraps that fall to the ground from my family's plates. Sometimes my puppy dog eyes are sufficient in getting them to willingly hand over their rations in this time of crisis.

Next, we all gather around the glowing screen that I have yet been able to identify. I usually like to cuddle up against the teenager, I know, shocking, but it is only because she seems uninterested in the screen and will give me all the cuddles. My parents intensely stare as a variety of people I do not recognize talk on the screen.

After my humans finish this activity, it is my favorite time of the day. I get to go on my daily walk. My dad no longer calls it a walk though, because he knows it will trigger me into an excited rampage of barks. There will be a day though when I know what W - A - L - K means. As he hooks on my leash, I jump with glee. Today we went into new areas of the neighborhood that I have never ventured into before. However, we live on a massive hill, and my dad does not understand that these four little legs struggle to make it up the mountain after a 2 mile walk. I just could not push through it today so I refused to walk so he would carry me the rest of the way.

The real fun began once we returned back home. My humans ventured into their daily designated areas. During this time, there were no eyes on me, so I acted like the wild child I am. The trash was my first stop until I heard the familiar yell of my mother and I scurried away. Then I decided I needed fresh air, so I scratched on the door until I was released into my outdoor kingdom. Then I scratched to be let back in after 5 minutes, and this cycle went on all day.

The sun was setting so I decided to take a nap in my bed, and I woke up to my family cooking up my favorite, chicken. They did not even waste their time with kibble, and gave me my pristine meal. As they finished up, I double-checked their plates as they were placed into this weird contraption that makes water noises.

The darkness had finally surrounded the house and worried expressions crossed my family's faces as they watched that unknown screen again. Although this time is wonderful for me, I can tell that it is not for humans. I want things to go back to normal, because at the end of the day if they are not happy, I am not happy.


8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page