top of page

My Thoughts on Quarantine

Therese Kim - Staff Writer


Over two months ago, we were going on with our daily lives like usual. Some of us were predicting possible school closures, but on Friday, March 13th when the official announcement was made, I think that most of us were taken by surprise. At that time, I believe that there were no positive cases of COVID-19 in Howard County, but I think that our state of Maryland was wise in taking precautions. We all thought of this sudden break as an early Spring Break. However, two days later on March 15th, the first case of the coronavirus in Howard County was reported. I was checking the Johns Hopkins Coronavirus Interactive Map everyday, and the sudden increase in the cases of the virus was very shocking.

Like many others, I was enjoying the break and became a couch potato for the first few weeks. However, the first segment of the quarantine break passed and the school cancellation was lengthened to April 24th. My mother decided that her children could not be in their pajamas all day in front of the TV so she created a schedule where “home school” and free-time were both incorporated. For Howard County students, we were not yet given required assignments until the week of April 13th. I was beginning to miss my extracurricular activities that had now come to a halt, but more importantly, my friends and extended family members.

On March 30th, Governor Hogan announced a stay-at-home order that is currently still in place. This meant that people were only allowed to come out for essential reasons, like medical care or food. It is never useful if one indulges themself with the news too much, but I realized that I should be more informed about these events that are occurring for the first time in present history. I watched videos and read articles about how our nation was dealing with the virus, and how other nations have been preparing as well. A country that handled this pandemic very well is South Korea. The South Korean government was quick at tracing the steps of the coronavirus and ensured that the places where COVID-19 patients had been to were thoroughly disinfected.

Despite the emergency lockdowns, those working in the medical field are still going to work. I believe that all individuals who are continuing to do their jobs like doctors, nurses, pharmacists, restaurant and fast-food employees, mailmen, volunteers, delivery people, and those who work with homes like mowers and plumbers are the true heroes amidst this pandemic. The risk of an entire hospital becoming infected rose and COVID-19 patients have to be specially quarantined. I read that Samaritan’s Purse, a humanitarian aid organization, opened an emergency field hospital right in New York City’s Central Park. The sacrifice and diligence of everyone who continues to work during this time greatly inspires me and gives me hope that being in quarantine is not so bad.

I am very thankful for being able to live in a privileged community and because I am a freshman, the virus has not affected as many important events of mine. However, the seniors have not been so lucky. This is their last year of high school, and they cannot have a proper prom or graduation ceremony. In spite of the dramatic events that have affected us, the advanced technology in our nation has fortunately been helping us. Recently, school has been canceled for the rest of this year. However, with phone calls, virtual classes, and our families, I believe that this unique situation will soon come to an end.


25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page